Athletics‎ > ‎Cross Country‎ > ‎Cross Country News‎ > ‎

Girls Third; Boys Fourth in League Meet

posted Oct 14, 2017, 11:22 AM by Steve Barr
10/14/17 - The Woodmore girls cross country team put three runners in the top nine of the Northern Buckeye Conference Championships at Eastwood High School to finish third while the boys team finished fourth.  The girls had 75 team points to finish behind Eastwood (57) and Genoa (57).  Freshman Ava Beam was the individual runner-up running a time of 20:57.62 over the 5K course.  Lauren Welker from Eastwood won the race with a time of 20:35.42.  Freshman Olivia Thatcher finished eighth in a time of 21:33.08 and sophomore teammate Faith Morris was right behind in ninth-place in 21:54.42.  Senior Mackenzie Nighswander placed 21st by running 24:02.15, sophomore Caitlyn Hammer was 43rd in 26:16.61, and sophomore Madeline Shuler ran 27:06.32 to finish 48th.  There were a total of 70 runners in the race.  The boys team had 120 points to finish behind Eastwood (40), Otsego (43), and Genoa (90).  Senior Joey Emerine led the team with a 14th-place finish running 18:10.97 for the 5K course while sophomore Pierce Overmyer was 21st in a time of 18:27.10.  Junior Joey Grzegorczyk placed 24th in a time of 18:45.26, junior Ethan Davis was next in 25th place running 18:48.26, sophomore Steven Carter was timed in 19:31.55 to place 42nd, sophomore Cole Sotak placed 44th in a time of 19:39.61, sophomore Nicholas Reedy was 52nd in a time of 20:12.62, freshman Kayden Widman ran a time of 20:15.57 to place 55th, junior Bryson Wargo ran 22:25.30 to finish 78th, freshman Kegan Harrison was 82nd in 22:52.06, and senior Alexander Cutcher finished 96th in a time of 25:08.34.  There were 101 runners in the race.  The top 21 runners in both the boys and girls race earn all-conference honors.  Runners who finish among the top seven receive first-team accolades, placers 8th through 14th-place earn second team, and 15th-place through 21st place are honorable mention.  Four Wildcat girls earned all-league - Beam (first-team), Thatcher (second-team), Morris (second-team), and Nighswander (honorable mention).  Two boys were all-league - Emerine (second-team) and Overmyer (honorable mention).